Travel, Food & Books

Faders Trilogy by C.M. Owens

In a world where machines in the sky watch over the inhabitants’ movement and the person who made the first killing fades into nothingness, evil still lurks around, waiting for a chance to strike.

Fending off the cunning evils are the tribe’s finest male warriors. However, history is about to change when Arena becomes the first female warrior, upholding her father’s extraordinary legacy.

“We’ll call her Arena, for she has more fight in her than any arena in all the world.”

Series Title: Faders Trilogy
Author: C.M. Owens
Genres: Fantasy
Read Format: Kindle Edition
Total Pages: 1,093
Reading Date: 16th February 2021 ~ 01st March 2021

The Reading Order – How to Read Faders Trilogy by C.M. Owens

  • 1 The Devil’s Artwork
  • 2 New Dawn of War
  • 3 The Devil’s Wrath

The Devil’s Artwork

Arena Clash lives in a world where death isn’t the worst consequence, being forgotten is. After her father’s fade, her heart was hardened, she turned bitter, and she became too strong for her own good.

Kaceton Brice just happens to be the right amount of fire to melt her glacial exterior. But with the threat of a fade always lurking, love is a dangerous journey to embark on.

They find themselves in the middle of an ages-old conflict, and the thing Arena hates the most becomes her best ally.

My thoughts…

The idea of this new world created by C.M. Owens was great. However, after reading 50% of the book, I was still confused and couldn’t picture the world. All the time, I pictured the Hunger Games world, and it wasn’t until almost the end of the story that I finally learned more about it.

Arena, the main character was a badass and responsible girl. She took the risk of hunting in a territory where she wasn’t allowed to bring some food back to her family. Arena was also a bright girl but blind to her best friend’s feelings. For her, love was a foreign feeling, one that she still trying to figure out while in a fake relationship with Kace.

Arena had my emotions running wild with what she experienced in her life. I was proud of her for her achievement, her compassion toward her tribe was commendable, and her problem-solving skills were admirable. However, her indecisive heart over Kace was suck and had made my blood boil.

The ending of this book wasn’t what I expected. This was the first time that I felt reluctant to read the next book! After all the dramas, I couldn’t stomach bad things happening to the couple anymore. But I guess I have to brace myself for whatever comes next!

New Dawn of War

Just when everything proves to be perfect, old grudges come to rest in the lives of Kace and Arena. Though Kace has never seemed like the type to make enemies, some things are often beyond one’s control. His secretive past comes to light, and Arena struggles to adjust with some of the things she learns.

Arena finds she has enemies of her own – some she foolishly chose to overlook. Though many love her, more find her to be an appealing choice they are willing to use force in order to take. In the dark, unforgiving world they live in, it’s a struggle just to stay free.

With the viewer gone, nothing stands in the way of years of festering grudges. With war breaking out like a dark plague, the walls of the Shaylan call to those without protection. Just as they become a safe harbor, Arena learns of her mother’s accidental capture, sending her and the other warriors on a mission to bring her home.

Burning resentments from years of feeling inferior to the Shaylan teems in so many outside the walls, and Arena learns her life has been far more sheltered than she could have ever imagined as they travel into a new, awakening reality.

Foes become friends, ghosts become enemies, and dark soldiers loom around every twisted corner they turn. With time not showing them any favors, Arena and Kace rush to save Meredith from the hands of the depraved while facing struggles of their own – both physically and emotionally.

Get your questions answered, and follow Kace and Arena’s journey.

My thoughts…

The second book contains a much better storyline. More action, adventure and tense emotion make the story more enticing. Raven, the new member of the team with her skills, sharp tongue and bravery, was a great addition to the story.

The mysterious character, Carter, had yet to make an appearance in the story. Now that the enemy has the information they sought, it’s just a matter of time before they launch a surprise move toward the team, and I’m dreading this!

The Devil’s Wrath

Secrets are revealed, lies are exposed, and a daunting fate comes to life… It’s all been adding up to this.

They know the fight isn’t over. Misel is still out there, plotting and waiting. But they aren’t prepared for what else they’ll find. And they learn just how cunning, ruthless, and calculated he really is.

Arena and Kace would die for each other, but will that be tested?

Legacies are formed, destinies are changed, and fate is tempted. And it all blows up in a way they never expected to be possible.

My thoughts…

Finally, this last book includes Kace’s point of view! I’ve been wondering what’s going on in his mind, especially when something happened to Arena and when he had to deal with Ebony or Mary 😉. I wondered what had happened to Mary, though. She wasn’t in the spotlight anymore.

The conclusion to this series wasn’t disappointing at all. It was full of twists and turns, some that I didn’t expect at all. But, although I liked the story, I wouldn’t say I’ll miss the team because I’d had enough of Arena’s childish behaviour from the previous two books. That being said, Arena had grown into a mature lady in this book, and I liked her better.

Facebook Comments
Visited 9 times, 1 visit(s) today

Next Post

Previous Post

© 2024 Travelbookworm

Theme by

error: Content is protected !!