Travel, Food & Books

Daughters of the Sea by Kathryn Lasky

Daughters of the Sea Series by Kathryn Lasky. A completed series consists of 4 books – Hannah, May, Lucy & The Crossing.

Series Title: Daughters of the Sea
Author: Kathryn Lasky
Genres: Paranormal > Mythology > Mermaids
Read Format: Kindle Edition
Total Pages: 1,172
Reading Date: 02nd ~ 11th August 2018

The Reading Order – How to Read Daughters of the Sea by Kathryn Lasky

  • 1 Hannah
  • 2 May
  • 3 Lucy
  • 4 The Crossing


The story happened in the nineteenth century. Three siblings separated at birth and then raised in three different levels of society.

Hannah was raised in an orphanage, and when she was 15 years old, she was sent to work at Hawley’s residence as a scullery girl.

While working there, she met an artist named Stanish who had been hired by her employer to paint a portrait of the three daughters, Lila, Clarice, and Henrietta. Hannah was drawn to Stanish, but so did the eldest daughter, Lila, who disliked her from the start.


Raised in a lighthouse, May lived with her loving father and a deranged mother who loved nothing but her sickness. She ordered May around like a servant and forbade her to study.

May met Hugh, a Harvard student, and their relationship wasn’t without a challenge, a local guy named Rudd who had taken a liking to her would do anything to prevent it from happening, including murder.


Lucy was raised in a family that’s a bit ‘wealthier’ than her two other siblings. Her father was a reverend, and her mother loved nothing but status.

Things turned ugly when her mother realized that she had fallen in love with the shipbuilder named Phineas instead of the wealthy Duke from England.

The three of them, of course, didn’t know that they were a mermaid until their skin made contact with the seawater.

Fate had brought the three of them together, but before they could finally be reunited and live the life they were supposed to, the sisters needed to decide whether to live on the land or sea, and the more pressing issue would be to find a way to escape the death sentence.

The Crossing

There’s not much suspense happening in this series, easy reading with a simple conclusion. The last book was concise; I wish it were longer, where there’s more story of their happy reunion with the others on the island and how they were settling in there with their beau.

My next reading also has the same title, Daughters of the Sea, but it was written by Kristen Day, and I hope the story will be much more interesting than this one.

Facebook Comments
Visited 25 times, 1 visit(s) today

Next Post

Previous Post

© 2024 Travelbookworm

Theme by

error: Content is protected !!