Travel, Food & Books

Fallen Fae Gods Series by Jaymin Eve

When a book goes missing, Morgan learns the truth about Dragerfield Library. Her workplace is a gateway between Earth and the Faerie realm, Risest. A world Morgan is about to explore with the Fallen Gods.

Title: Fallen Fae Gods
Author: Jaymin Eve
Genres: Fantasy > Paranormal > Dragons / Fae
Read Format: Kindle Edition
Total Pages: 713
Reading Date: 29th March 2024 – 10th April 2024

The reading order – How to Read Fallen Fae Gods Series by Jaymin Eve

  • 1 Gilded Wings
  • 2 Crimson Skies

Gilded Wings

𝑶𝒏𝒆 𝒄𝒂𝒍𝒍 𝒄𝒉𝒂𝒏𝒈𝒆𝒅 𝒕𝒉𝒆 𝒄𝒐𝒖𝒓𝒔𝒆 𝒐𝒇 𝒎𝒚 𝒍𝒊𝒇𝒆 𝒇𝒐𝒓𝒆𝒗𝒆𝒓.

When my phone rang after a night of drinking with my best friend, I had no idea my whole world was about to change.

“A book is missing,” a deep, unnaturally enticing voice growls down the line.

Panicked, I race out to Dragerfield Library, breaking all the rules—even if a book is missing, we’re only allowed on the property during the day.

But if I don’t find that ancient tome, I’ll be fired anyway.

“𝒀𝒐𝒖 𝒔𝒉𝒐𝒖𝒍𝒅 𝒉𝒂𝒗𝒆 𝒘𝒂𝒊𝒕𝒆𝒅 𝒖𝒏𝒕𝒊𝒍 𝒎𝒐𝒓𝒏𝒊𝒏𝒈, 𝒉𝒖𝒎𝒂𝒏.”

Too late to retreat, I soon learn why the rules exist. Dragerfield is a doorway between worlds. A doorway to Risest, the Faerie realm. A realm they access at night.

And I’m the moronic human who wandered uninvited into their midst.

The fae uses humans for two reasons: entertainment, and well, you can use your imagination for the other.

Even worse, the voice on the line that set all of this in motion is no ordinary fae. Drager, with his dragon scales and smoky scent, is one of their gods. A Fallen Five.

𝑴𝒚 𝒏𝒆𝒘 𝒄𝒂𝒑𝒕𝒐𝒓.

A missing book is the least of my worries now.
I’d thought I was about to be fired, but instead, I’m heading to Faerie.
And it might be a one-way trip.

Book one of the Fallen Fae Gods started with a mystery to be solved. Whose voice was it that Morgan heard? As the story progresses, we venture into the realm where Drager and the other fallen rule. There is much to learn about Risest, its inhabitants, the world’s topography, its history, and so on. It’s fascinating.

The enigma surrounding the owner of the voice is finally resolved at the end of the story. However, this revelation only foreshadows the chaos that will ensue in the next instalment, as well as unravel the hidden memories of the fallen gods.

After reading the synopsis and a few chapters of the first book, I was immediately hooked by the story. It managed to grab my attention and keep me engaged for quite some time. However, once the characters entered the Fae’s realm, the plot seemed to lose some of its excitement.

Don’t get me wrong, I liked the adventure Morgan had in the world, especially with her best friend, Lexie, as her protector. The story reminded me a bit of the Shadow Beasts series. But the characters here are hardly as fascinating as the beasts! In the romance department, it barely exists. The relationship is like an instant attraction, not one but possibly two candidates. Even so, they seldom interact in the story.

Am I going to continue reading the second book? Absolutely! The story is still intriguing, and I want to know what caused the five to fall in the first place and what is so special about Morgan. Does she possess a unique power? Perhaps her family line is part Fae/Dragon, and her power needs to be activated to turn her into a badass human. I hope this happens because I’m not used to reading about weak protagonists🤞.

Crimson Skies

Crimson Skies is the final book in the Fallen Fae Gods romantasy duet. Tropes include dragon shifter and human romance, f0rced proximity, fated mates, touch her and…, portal to a faerie world. This book is not a standalone and is recommended for 18+ due to language and adult situations.

Book two picked up right where Gilded Wings left off. Zahak and Morgan were in the Trenches where the Shadow creatures resided. As they moved around to find a way out, they noticed the shadow beings were sick, and the infection spread alarmingly.

Finally, out of the trenches, not only did they emerge and notice the usually pink sky had changed to a Crimson sky, a telltale sign of invasion, but they also were about to be betrayed.

It’s now Morgan’s turn to save the day. First thing first, she needed to rescue her true mate, the rest of the Fallen Gods and also her friend, Lexie. After that, she might have the chance to officially bond with her true mate before the final battle against her future in-laws. Lovely!

This Fallen Fae Gods reminded me of Shadow Beasts shifters and Supernatural Prison World. While I thoroughly enjoyed both of those series, the protagonist in this tale, Morgan, was not as endearing as Jessa or even Mera. Zahak and his siblings also failed to make a positive impact in the same way as the Compasses brothers or the Merry band of the Shadow Beasts.

I prefer the side characters as they seemed to leave a much stronger impression. The interactions and moments between Morgan and her friend, Lexie, and with the Sabres, Astra and Leo, were heartwarming and enjoyable. The world-building aspect was also something I appreciated.

However, I realised that I wasn’t even bothered to find out if the other Fallen Fae Gods would be getting their story in the future or not. I think the main reason was that the females were going to be human, AKA, not supernatural beings. Hence the loss of interest. That’s a first for me!

Facebook Comments
Visited 8 times, 1 visit(s) today

Next Post

Previous Post

© 2024 Travelbookworm

Theme by

error: Content is protected !!